

Heademic Convocation 2020

Sunday, September 13, 2020

7:30 PM

Heademic Convocation

Opening Remarks Gwyneth Connell

Director of the Grauer Family Institute

Presentation of Awards Gwyneth Connell

Director of the Grauer Family Institute

&

Doug MacLeod

Director of Studies

Departmental Awards

ENGLISH DEPARTMENT

Todd Matthew, Chair

Humanities I: English Award

The Humanities I: English Award recognizes that third form student who mastered fundamental writing and close-reading skills in this yearlong survey of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, and drama.

Humanities II: English Award

The Humanities II: English Award recognizes that fourth form student who rose above his or her peers in this yearlong writing-intensive exploration of World Literature.

Fifth Form English III Award

The Fifth Form English Award is given to that student who excelled in reading and writing about American literature.

ARTS DEPARTMENT

Chip Lamb P '09, '11, Chair

The Fine Arts Department honors students for excellence and achievement in each of the following disciplines:

Painting and Drawing, Photography, Ceramics, Digital Arts, Sculpture, Dance, Music, and Theater

HISTORY AND SOCIAL SCIENCES DEPARTMENT

Katie Duglin '01, Chair

The History Department honors students for excellence and achievement in each of the following areas:

Humanities I: Global Studies, Humanities II: American Studies, World History, and US History

MATHEMATICS DEPARTMENT

Brian Rice P'22, Chair

The Mathematics Department honors students for excellence and achievement in the following areas:

Geometry, Algebra, Precalculus, and Calculus

SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

Josh Lake, Chair

The Science Department honors students for excellence and achievement in the following core scientific disciplines:

Physics, Chemistry, and Biology

Science Elective Prize

Given in recognition of committed study and academic achievement in the broadening elective courses offered by the Science Department.

Benjamin B. Morgan '53 Award

Given in honor of former colleague Ben Morgan '53, senior master and science teacher at Pomfret School, this award recognizes outstanding work in physics by a freshman, and honors the third form science student who has shown innate curiosity and a strong desire to explore science.

WORLD LANGUAGES DEPARTMENT

Pablo Montoro-Alonso, *Chair*The World Languages Department honors students for excellence and achievement in the following languages:

Chinese, French, Latin, and Spanish

Head of School Scholar Recognition

Doug MacLeod

Recognizing students earning "Head of School Scholar" honors based on final transcript grades achieved last school year (GPA of 4.00 or higher; no final grade below A-).

Cum Laude

Greg Rossolimo, Pomfret School Chapter

The Cum Laude Society, founded in 1906, is a national fellowship of scholars whose purpose is to recognize excellence in academic work. Membership in this Society carries a responsibility to make some contribution to the ongoing search for greater understanding of the world in which we live.

Sponsor Awards

Gwyneth Connell

The Rensselaer Medal
The College of the Holy Cross Award
The Smith College Book Award
The Trinity Club of Hartford Book Award
The Brown University Book Award
The Harvard-Radcliffe Book Prize

Form Scholar Awards

Doug MacLeod

Class of 2022: 1st and 2nd in class Class of 2021: 1st and 2nd in class Class of 2020: 1st and 2nd in class

Closing Remarks

Tim Richards P '15, Head of School