A World of Difference

Our alumni network stretches around the world and back again.

Each of these extraordinary alumni got their start right here. Nobel laureates and Oscar winners. Industry titans and government officials. Artists and athletes. Doers and dreamers. Of course, for every notable alumni on this list, there are hundreds more making a world of difference every day. At Pomfret, we celebrate them all.

James Rothman

James Rothman '67 won the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2013. He is the Fergus F. Wallace Professor of Biomedical Sciences at Yale University, Chairman of the Department of Cell Biology at Yale School of Medicine, and Director of the Nanobiology Institute at the Yale West Campus.

W.P. Carey

William P. Carey '48 was the founder of WP Carey, Inc., the Carey Business School at Johns Hopkins University, the Carey School of Law, and the W. P. Carey School of Business at Arizona State University.

Jon Stone

Regarded by many as the best children's writer in the history of television, Jon Stone '48 was an award-winning writer, director, and producer. He is best known as the co-creator of Sesame Street, where he developed characters such as Cookie Monster, Oscar the Grouch, and Big Bird with Jim Henson. Stone won 18 television Emmy Awards.

Josh Bank

As the Executive Vice President of Alloy Entertainment, Josh Bank ’86 is the man behind television hits like Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, Vampire Diaries, and The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.

Robert Vickrey

Robert Vickrey ’44 was a Massachusetts-based artist whose paintings have been described as surreal dreamlike visions. A leader of "magic realism," his work appears in the collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Whitney Museum of American Art, and The Museum of Modern Art, Rio de Janeiro.

Robert Fiske

Robert Fiske '48 is a prominent trial attorney and partner with the law firm of Davis Polk & Wardwell in New York City. In 1994, Janet Reno appointed him Special Prosecutor during Whitewater. In addition, Fiske has defended a number of high-profile corporate clients, including the National Football League, Exxon, and Sotheby's.

Brian Flynn

Brian Flynn ’07 is an NHL hockey player on the Montreal Canadiens. He began his career with the Rochester Americans in the AHL before making his NHL debut with the Buffalo Sabres in 2012.

Peter Beard

Peter Beard '56 is a celebrated, photographer and diarist who lives and works in New York City and Kenya. His photographs of Africa and its animals have been widely shown and published since the 1960s. Over his long career, Beard has collaborated with many other well-known artists, including Andy Warhol, Salvador Dalí, and Truman Capote.

Alex Gibney

Alex Gibney ’71 is an Emmy Award-winning documentary film director, writer, and producer who won the Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature in 2008 for Taxi to the Dark Side. Other films include include Enron, Gonzo, Client 9, We Steal Secrets, Going Clear, and Steve Jobs, among many others.

Caroline Waterlow

Caroline Waterlow ’91 is an award-winning producer best known for her film OJ: Made in America, which won the Oscar for Best Documentary Feature in 2017. Her other film credits include Cutie and the Boxer and Brooklyn Dodgers: The Ghosts of Flatbush, which earned her an Emmy in 2008.

Orville Schell

Orville Schell ’58 is an American writer, academic, and activist, well known for his works on China. He is the Arthur Ross Director of the Center on U.S.–China Relations at the Asia Society in New York, and previously served as Dean of the Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism, University of California.

Edward Stettinius

Edward Stettinius Jr. ’20 was an American businessman who served as Secretary of State under Presidents Franklin D. Roosevelt and Harry S. Truman from 1944 to 1945, and as U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations from 1945 to 1946.

Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade

Antônio Augusto Cançado Trindade '66 is a Brazilian judge on the International Court of Justice, commonly referred to as The Hague. Prior to his appointment to the World Court, he was President of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights.

Sarah Vaillancourt

Canadian ice hockey player Sarah Vaillancourt ’04 is a two-time Olympic gold medalist. A member of the Canadian women's national team, Vaillancourt has played in nearly 100 international games, scoring more than 30 goals. At Harvard, she was ranked fourth overall in the NCAA.

Soo-ho Cho

Cho Soo-ho '74 was the Chairman and CEO of Hanjin Shipping, the Director of Korean Airlines, and the Founder of the Yanghyun Prize for artistic achievement.

Buzz Yudell

Robert J.Yudell '65 is a noted pioneer of planning and architecture for sustainable communities. In 2006, he won the National American Institute of Architects Firm Award. In 2007, he won the American Institute of Architects Los Angeles Gold Medal Award.

Ted Sizer

Theodore Sizer ’49 was a noted educational reformer, Dean of the Harvard Graduate School of Education, Founding Director of the Annenberg Institute for School Reform, and author of numerous influential books on educational reform, including his most famous work, Horace's Compromise.

Eben Fiske Ostby

A pioneer in the field of computer animation, Eben Fiske Ostby ’73 is the Vice President for Software at Pixar Animation Studios, where he has worked on smash-hits like Monsters, Inc. and Toy Story. One of Pixar's first employees, he won an Academy Award in 1998 for developing the Marionette 3D Computer Animation System.

Ridley Pearson

Ridley Pearson '71 is the New York Times best-selling co-author of the Peter & The Startcatchers series, which was adapted into the Tony-award winning Broadway play. In addition, he is the author of Undercurrents, The Art of Deception, and The Kingdom Keepers series, among others.

Jack Viertel

Jack Viertel ’67 is the Senior Vice President of Jujamcyn Theaters, which owns and operates five Broadway theaters. Over his long career, he helped shepherd six of August Wilson’s plays to Broadway, as well as Tony Kushner’s Angels in America, and original productions of Into the Woods, City of Angels, and Hairspray.

Henry B. du Pont

Henry B. du Pont ’16 was the Vice President and Director of DuPont Chemical and the Director of General Motors. He was also a delegate to the Republican National Convention in 1936 and a noted philanthropist.

Roger Angell

Roger Angell ’38 is an American essayist known for his writing on sports, especially baseball. He is a regular contributor to The New Yorker, and was its Chief Fiction Editor for many years. In 2007, he was elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Jack Hardy

John Studebaker Hardy ’65 was an influential folk musician who wrote and performed for decades. Based in Greenwich Village, he was the Founding Editor of Fast Folk Musical Magazine, and has been cited as a major influence by Suzanne Vega, John Gorka, and many others who emerged from the Greenwich Village folk scene in the 70s, 80s, and 90s.

Felice Mueller

Felice Mueller ’08 is an Olympic rower. She won a gold medal in the coxless four at the 2013 World Rowing Championships and finished fourth at the 2016 Olympic games in Rio de Janeiro.