Schwartz Visiting Fellows

The Schwartz Visiting Fellowship brings the world to our doorstep.

Since 1989, world-renowned experts in their fields have visited Pomfret School under the auspices of The Schwartz Visiting Fellow Program. This extraordinary speaker series is the result of the vision and generosity of Michael ’66 and Eric ’69 Schwartz. Past fellows include the writer Joyce Carol Oates, marine archaeologist Robert Ballard, author Bill Bryson, and historian David McCullough, to name a few. These eminent visiting fellows have enriched both the School and the Pomfret community. We extend our profound gratitude to Michael and Eric

Junot Díaz

The 2018 Schwartz Public Lecture will take place on Friday, January 26 at 7:00 PM in Hard Auditorium. Because of high interest, you must register in advance for this FREE event.




2011 - Dr. Carolyn Porco

Dr. Porco is the head of the imaging team for the Cassini-Huygens mission to Saturn and winner of the Carl Sagan Award for Science Education.

2010 - Wade Davis

A National Geographic Explorer-in-Residence, Davis travels the globe to live alongside indigenous people, and document their cultural practices in books, photographs, and film.

2009 - Dana Gioia

Gioia is an award-winning poet, critic, and former chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts.

2008 - Carole Simpson

An award-winning news journalist, Simpson is best known for her work as anchor for ABC’s World News Tonight Sunday.

2007 - Bill Bryson

An internationally acclaimed author of more than a dozen books, Bryson is considered a humorist and a general expert on language.


2006 - Brian Greene: An eloquent, energetic speaker who makes complex scientific ideas accessible to a more general public, Greene is a professor of physics and mathematics at Columbia University.

2005 - Christine Todd Whitman: Whitman has spent a distinguished career in public service, including time as the administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency and the 50th Governor of the State of New Jersey.

2004 - Jean-Michel Cousteau: Son of ocean explorer Jacques Cousteau, Jean-Michel is an explorer, environmentalist, educator, film producer, and founder and president of Ocean Futures Society.

2003 - Dr. Sergei Khrushchev: A senior fellow at the Thomas J. Watson, Jr. Institute for International Studies at Brown University, Khrushchev has lectured in the fields of Russian economic and political reforms.

2002 - Jacques d'Amboise: One of the finest classical dancers of our time, d’Amboise is the founder of the National Dance Institute and a former principal dancer with the New York City Ballet.


2001 - Carlos Fuentes: One of Latin America’s most distinguished novelists, Fuentes became legendary for his novel Old Gringo, the first by a Mexican author to become a best-seller in the United States.

2000 - Dr. Donald C. Johanson: Johanson is a paleoanthropologist best known for discovering the 3.2 million-year-old skeleton named Lucy.

1999 - Robert Ballard: A world-renowned marine geologist and marine physicist, Ballard discovered the Titanic in 1985.

1998 - Frank McCourt: A teacher and author, McCourt won the Pulitzer Prize for this nove Angela's Ashes in 1997.

1996 - Jacques d'Amboise: One of the finest classical dancers of our time, d’Amboise is the founder of the National Dance Institute and a former principal dancer with the New York City Ballet.


1995 - Joyce Carol Oates: An American writer, Oates has published over 40 novels, a number of plays and novellas, and many volumes of short stories, poetry, and nonfiction, garnering her a National Book Award, two O. Henry Awards, and the National Humanities Medal.

1994 - David McCullough: McCullough is an American author, narrator, historian, and lecturer. He is a two-time winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, and a recipient of the Presidential Medal of Freedom.

1993 - Madame Jehan Sadat: A human rights activist, Jehan is the widow of former Egyptian president Anwar Sadat. She was First Lady of Egypt from 1970 until Sadat's assassination in 1981.

1992 - Leon Lederman: A winner of the Nobel Prize for physics in 1988, Lederman was a lead scientist on the establishment of the super-conducting super collider.


1991 - Edward Albee: Albee was an American playwright known for works such as The Zoo Story, The Sandbox, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, and A Delicate Balance. Three of his plays won the Pulitzer Prize for Drama, and two of his other works won the Tony Award for Best Play.

1990 - Stanislav Levchenko: Levchenko is a former Russian KGB major who defected to the United States in 1979. He is the highest ranking KGB officer to defect to the West.

1989 - The Honorable Shirley Chisholm: Winner of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, Chisholm was an American politician, educator, and author. In 1968, she became the first black woman elected to Congress, and in 1972, she became the first black candidate for a major party's nomination for President of the United States.

Powered by Finalsite